The Day I DIY’d: Homegrown Smoothie Garden

I was a gardening disappointment most of my adult life until I found the key to gardening motivation: A purpose.

For me, real success in my garden came when I went from trying to recreate my produce drawer in my backyard, to focusing on something simple that I could maintain and use on a daily basis.

My garden now has one purpose and one purpose only: to fuel my smoothies. I make the collection of my daily greens and herbs part of my morning ritual in all of the seasons.

But growing your own smoothie garden requires some steps before you set your maintenance and harvest routines. The first step is doing your homework: Find out what grows in your area and when.

If you live in a wet and cool coastal climate—like the west coast of Canada where I live—go nuts with kale, mint, parsley, collard greens, and blackberries. By growing and eating what is in season locally you will not only make your life easier and your garden more successful, you will also be benefitting your health.

Start small and consider using pots. There is nothing more discouraging than a bunch of dead plants that were left in your care. Using pots also controls delicious but evasive plants such as blackberries. Pots are easy to move indoors in the winter and are a great way to continue growing your herbs throughout the year. I like to grow mint, as it tastes great in smoothies and can be grown indoors year-round.

Once you know what to plant, when to plant it, and the best place to plant it, form a ritual that involves gardening and stick to it. Just like anything else you do in the morning, incorporate gardening into the start of your day. Watering plants in the morning will allow for greater absorption of moisture into the plant and less evaporation under the sun.

The morning is also a great time to gather the goods for your smoothie. If you normally allocate five minutes to make your morning smoothie, allow for 10 minutes. An extra five minutes should be all you need to gather your goods and give your garden a drink.

Another important step for success: Make if fun.

If you have kids, get them involved. Encourage them to incorporate growing and harvesting the garden into daily fun. Get creative with smoothies: Now that you are growing your ingredients, you can invent new creations that utilize what you have sown.

My west coast local favorite is mint and blackberry with a rotating mix of greens, from kale, to collards, to leafy spinach. Yum!

Enjoy the sense of accomplishment you feel when you wander through the produce section at the grocery store, knowing you are improving your health and finances by growing your own kale, spinach, or whatever you’re harvesting at home.

Above all, be patient. Like any new changes in your daily life, don’t expect results overnight. Be persistent and eventually you will have your very own smoothie garden.

To learn more about homegrown smoothie gardens, The Green Smoothie Garden can be a helpful guide. You can also buy seed kits from places like The Urban Farmer that can take some of the guesswork out for you, but are not a substitute for knowing your area’s planting seasons and best thriving seeds.

This post appeared on Yoga Anonymous.

